Call Us: 936.441.4040


We Make It Easy To Get Your Texas License To Carry! (LTC)


If you are like most Texas, recent national events have you rethinking your personal safety and the safety of your loved ones. You want to protect yourself, but you don't know where to start or just haven't been able to find the time. At Blackwood Gun Club, we understand that our busy lives can make it difficult to find the time required for lengthy classes. Our team of instructors have created a LTC program that simplifies the process and makes it easy to understand.

General Information:


THIS IS NOT A FIREARMS TRAINING CLASS.
If you have never shot before or you are uncomfortable handling hand guns, please consider taking our 'Handgun 101' class first.

Class Fee: $80.00 (State Applications fees and fingerprint fee is not included)
This class is required to obtain your license to carry a handgun (LTC) from the State of Texas and focuses primarily on the Texas Laws as they pertain to the license. It will allow you to carry a handgun open or concealed. The State of Texas requires a minimum 4 hour class (not including range time) to obtain your carry license. The average total class time including classroom and range is about 6 hours but may vary depending on class size.

We will cover the application process in the class. There is nothing you need to do before attending.

The required material taught in class is on a very basic level and easy to understand. The required shooting portion of the class is held on-site and is also on a very basic level which focuses mostly on safe gun handling. Newer shooters often pass with ease.

You will be required to fire 50 rounds of ammunition during the shooting proficiency portion of the class. The distances and round count are as follows:

  • 3 Yards - 20 Rounds
  • 7 Yards - 20 Rounds
  • 15 Yards - 10 Rounds
You must maintain 70% proficiency or better to obtain your license.

The Texas LTC is a 5 year license. You are no longer required to take the class again when renewing your license. If you ever move out of Texas you can still keep your Texas license to carry active by simply renewing it online every 5 years.

Although not required by the State of Texas, we highly recommend participating in continuing education and hand gun training due to ever changing local and state laws.

Application Fee:


Standard application fee is now $40.00 and in some cases discounted (This fee is paid directly to the State of Texas). Fingerprint fees vary but are approximately $10.00.

What to Bring:


  • Handgun (There is no longer a minimum caliber requirement)
  • 50 Rounds of Ammo (NO RELOADS)
  • Hearing Protection (ear plugs or muffs are fine)
  • Eye Protection (sunglasses, or any kind of glasses will work)
  • Ball cap or any hat with a bill (recommended)
  • No open toed shoes
  • Rental 9mm handguns are available.

For more indepth information or to fill out your State application, please visit the Department of Public Safety website.

Have More Academy Related Questions?


If you didn't find the answers you were looking for, please feel free to contact one of our associates:

By Phone: 936.441.4040
By Email: -Click Here-

 

Get the latest news, updates and deals!

The Blackwood Newsletter is your ticket to the lastest news regarding our on-going renovations and the hotest deals in the area. Signing up easy, painless and you can opt out at any time.